An Extraordinary Two Weeks in Tokyo

DSCN2319

This is the first thing I saw when I got off the bus in Tokyo, and all I could think was “And this is an extraordinary life!”

IMG_4010With a new place to live and a new way to occupy my time, Tokyo didn’t give me a chance to breathe before the excitement started.

DSCN1869

One of the best parts of Japanese summer is the festivals that pop up everywhere. Out on an evening stroll, I came across a tiny local festival in a park.

DSCN2014

Out on a mission to find some great stuff going on in Tokyo, I met these guys in Yoyogi Park.

DSCN2286

Tokyo is a fun city to be in in the summer!

DSCN2338

I was lucky enough to be able to meet up with these cool cats and the new Kagawa JETs for one last big Kagawa-style drinks and karaoke shindig one night.

IMG_4034The guest house in Tokyo is full of great people. I made friends the night someone’s birthday turned into a cake fight and I ended up with cake all over my face.

DSCN2502

DSCN2684

One ‘work day’ consisted of me taking a train all the way down to the bottom of the Miura Peninsula and checking out beaches all day and fireworks all night.

DSCN2929

I headed to Yokohama with friends one night for wine and a spin on the ferris wheel.

DSCN3029

Then I stayed up all night to go to the famous Tsukiji Fish Market, where they auction off the biggest fish I’ve seen in my life!

DSCN3076

Afterwards we had sushi for breakfast which was unusual but I could eat sushi any time of the day!

DSCN3184I met up with my JTE from Kagawa for a yummy French lunch and all the gossip from school.

IMG_4058

With the help of a friend, I managed to get a last minute ticket to the Sunday of Summer Sonic, where I saw Imagine Dragons, Carly Rae Jepsen, Cyndi Lauper, Mr Children and Muse. Amazing!

IMG_4083

Drinks with some friends and roadies afterwards started off in a shot bar in Roppongi…

IMG_4075

…and ended up like this.

DSCF7082

I was invited on a road trip down to Zushi Beach with these cool kids from the guest house. We spent the whole day on the beach in the sun, then headed to a house party nearby where we grilled a ton of food and drank some nice beer.

IMG_4087Kazu and I spent a day at a theme park!

DSCN3129Where I rode a panda. Because, you know… a panda…

DSCF7138

When you have a heatwave in Tokyo, the logical thing to do is to put a paddling pool in your carpark and throw a big barbeque party. We could tell it was a good party, because the police were called three times. In the middle of the day.

IMG_4093We followed that with a fireworks festival, and I tied my own obi!

DSCN3387

I went  on a road trip to Gunma Prefecture with these gorgeous girls, Megu and Kiyomi, from my guesthouse.

IMG_4200

One day I headed up to Saitama Prefecture to meet the vice-principal of Takamatsu Daiichi in Kawagoe.

DSCN3537

She treated me and her sister to an exquisite lunch.

amiryoAnd on my last night in Tokyo I was able to celebrate Ryo and Ami’s wedding with them. What a beautiful couple!

Tokyo, see you in a month. Next stop, Yamagata!

2 thoughts on “An Extraordinary Two Weeks in Tokyo

Leave a Reply

