Happy Birthday in Japan (again)

Turning twenty-five in Japan is not something that I ever imagined for myself. Partly because I never really had any interest in Japan until I suddenly decided to move here, but also partly because I never really believed I’d get to twenty-five.

Anyway, on Friday I did make it to twenty-five and I did celebrate in Japan, in true Hannah style; all silliness and fun.

There was French toast for breakfast (eaten in pajamas and high heels), perfect weather, a mid morning ice cream break, water pistols and Leandi in class, students singing happy birthday, bunking off early for coffee, Skyping with Mum and Dad, a homemade cake delivered to my door, dinner at a fancy restaurant at the harbour, Christmas crackers, more homemade cake, a mad outdoor party down by the water, lovely presents, spray painting a car, and dancing until the morning birds started to sing.  Everything I needed for a perfect birthday.

I always get a bit reflective on my birthday and this year all I could think was how lucky and blessed I am.

I have such beautiful, generous, amazing people in my life, here and around the world; people who teach me and look after me and make me happy.

I have so many wonderful opportunities to travel and learn and experience all the magic in the world.

I am healthy and safe, something that I take for granted all too often.

I love the way I live my life. It’s not always very conventional, and it’s not always easy, but I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I don’t know where I’m going, and I’m really not sure how I intend to get there, but I’m having an incredible time figuring it out.

And if the next twenty-five years are even half as mindblowing as the first twenty-five, I’ll be happy.

thanks to Bella Besong

Well, I never seem to do it like anybody else
Maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down
If you ever want to find me I can still be found
Taking the long way
Taking the long way around.

-Dixie Chicks, Long Way Around

Leave a Reply

