You know you live in Japan when…

This popped up on my newsfeed today, and I laughed because it’s so damn true.

IMG_3619

Here are some other “you know you live in Japan when”s:

You know you live in Japan when your adult colleagues have cutesy character paraphernalia everywhere. Clothes, bags, pencil cases, dashboards, book covers… It’s like Disneyland in my office sometimes.

You know you live in Japan when strangers approach you multiple times per day with “what country?” or other variations on the question. I am so bored of this line of questioning that when a high school student approached us the other day, I led with “if you were a crayon, what colour would you be?” just to break the monotony.

You know you live in Japan when you have a choice of 47 different kinds of tofu at the store, but you have to buy your deodorant online.

You know you live in Japan when your toilet choices are; a) spaceship toilet that will wash you, dry you and sing you a song, or b) hole in the ground. Middle ground, people! Get some!

I love the weirdness, I’m really going to miss it when I’m gone.

 

Leave a Reply

