Class trips

I loved school field trips when I was a kid.

A whole day to go somewhere more interesting than school and freak out the teachers by touching things we shouldn’t and standing too close to the edge? Best.

But it turns out that going on a school field trip as an ALT is even better.

Last year we went to a really cool art gallery in Naruto, but this year we got to go to an awesome science museum in Ehime, and to be totally honest I think I was more excited than the kids.

The day was just a series of excitements from start to finish.

We got to watch Shrek on the bus! Lucky I’ve seen it so many times that I could follow it in Japanese…

We went to a planetarium! It was amazing, with cool stars and that dizzy feeling when the flying animation is really good.

I got sweets! Field trip day is the one day of the year that the kids are allowed to have sweets at school, so after they ate lunch, they had oyatsu time and they all pulled out sweets and chocolates and when I stared at them really hard they shared with me.

My 8th graders were pretty chill about being attacked by a dinosaur.

My 8th graders were pretty chill about being attacked by a dinosaur.

We saw dinosaurs! There were cool dinosaur statues that started moving at random intervals. Someone screamed. It might have been me.

There were things that went whirr and lit up and moved! I couldn’t read most of the explanations, so I wasn’t really sure what most of them were, but I enjoyed turning cranks and pulling ropes and spinning things with my kids.

I wish my students were always this hilariously disproportioned!

I wish my students were always this hilariously disproportioned!

We got to watch Shrek! I guess they only packed one DVD for the trip. But my kids insisted on watching it in English with Japanese subtitles the second time, so I was pretty stoked.

I got to take a nap! Having a lot of fun with some nuts kids is exhausting, so I grabbed a few sneaky Zs on the bus home, safe in the knowledge that none of the kids had cameras or phones.

But the best thing about going on a field trip as an ALT is that I didn’t have to do that stupid worksheet that teachers always try to ruin a good field trip with.

Leave a Reply

