Ni nen sei

I think second graders (ni nen sei) might be a bit too much for me. I’m really fond of them but they are, at my school at least, totally wacko.

To illustrate this, in three classes this morning:

Two kids cried
One kid threw a tantrum and had to be forcibly removed from the class
Two kids bled
One kid threw up
Three kids climbed the bookcase
Two desks were pushed over
One kid took his shirt off
One kid danced on my desk
Thirteen kids got green and blue confused (it’s a weird Japanese thing)
One kid got all his colouring pencils in his mouth at once
One kid may have actually eaten some of his pencil
And three kids fell off their chairs

I have the maddest respect for second grade teachers.

Leave a Reply

