Humour fail

So, as I suspected, my sense of humour doesn’t translate well.

Walking back from lunch today a group of track and field students ran past us in the brutal heat.

I made one of my usual, well-crafted Japanese comments.

“Ehhhh. Atsui! Muzukashi… Ehhhh.” (You wouldn’t believe it, but that’s one of the better ones.)

I then went on to joke to my JTE, who speaks relatively good English, that;

“The only reason I would ever run is if something was chasing me!”

She stopped dead her tracks, a look of horror on her face.

“Eeeehhhhh! What, students here chased you? At this school? When?”

“No, no, I was joking. No one has chased me. No students. I was joking.”

“In New Zealand the students chase you??”

“No, no. I was joking. Like, maybe if a monster was chasing me? Ha ha.”

She stopped dead again.

“Monster?? In New Zealand?”

“No… I…”

At this point I gave up and went back to talking about the weather.

Stupid humour.

Leave a Reply

