First Class

School here doesn’t start until September, so I have spent my (few) days at school just chilling in the teachers’ office, preparing a self introduction, planning games and activities, studying Japanese and getting to know the teachers here (they’re awesome).

I was pretty happily learning random kanji this morning when my JTE came in from her cram classes and asked me to go upstairs and help.

“What?” I asked, my mouth full of fear and rice crackers. “Now?”

So I trundled upstairs in my slippers and was introduced to a room full of ninth graders.

Within the first ten minutes they had:

Laughed at my name
Picked an ant off my shirt
Screamed in fear when I spoke English to them.

I think we’re going to get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

